Hong Kong Desi remembers the BJP stalwart Arun Jaitley and his contribution to India

Shri Arun Jaitley (66 years) India’s former finance and defence minister breathed his last at 12:07 pm local time (06:37 GMT) at AIIMS, in New Delhi last saturday where he was undergoing for his treatment.

Bharatiya Janata Party has suffered major blow as four of its tall leaders died in one year.

Leaders across the party line expressed their grief over the social media.

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>With the demise of Arun Jaitley Ji, I have lost a valued friend, whom I have had the honour of knowing for decades. His insight on issues and nuanced understanding of matters had very few parallels. He lived well, leaving us all with innumerable happy memories. We will miss him!</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href=”https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1165168952282165250?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw”>August 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src=”https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js” charset=”utf-8″></script>

Political Timeline and achievements of Arun Jaitley

– In 1977 – Appointed as the president of the Delhi ABVP and All India Secretary of the ABVP.

– In 1980, he joined BJP.

– Became the president of the youth wing of BJP and the secretary of the Delhi Unit in 1980.

– He became the member of the National Executive of the BJP in 1991.

– On behalf of the government of India, he was a delegate in the United Nation General Assembly Session in 1998.

– In 1999, he became the spokesperson of BJP, just before the General Assembly Elections.

– In 1999, Minister of State, Department of Information and Broadcasting. Additionally, headed the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs.

– He joined Council of Ministers as the Minister of State and also became the in charge of the newly formed Department of Disinvestment.

– In 2000, for the first time from Gujarat, he was made the member of the Rajya Sabha.

– In 2000, again appointed as the Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs. Also, appointed as the head of the Ministry of Shipping.

– In November 2000, he was appointed as the Cabinet Minister after the resignation of Ramjeth Malani. Also, he was the Law Minister in the Cabinet and introduced several amendments to the Civil Procedure Code, the Criminal procedure Code and the Companies Act.

– In July, 2002, he became the General Secretary of the BJP.

– Till January 2003, he worked as the National spokesperson.

– In 2003, joined the Union cabinet as the Minister of Commerce and Industry and Law and Justice and functioned till May 2004.

– In 2006, he was re-elected to Rajya Sabha.

– In 2012 again from Gujarat, he was re-elected as a member of Rajya Sabha for the third term.

– From 2009 to 2012, he was appointed as the Leader of Opposition.

– On 26 May, 2014, he became the Finance Minister with an additional charge of defence Ministry which was later it was transferred to Mr Manohar Parrikar.

– As a Law Minister, he brought several electoral and judicial reforms. He set up Advocates Welfare Fund and Investor Protection Fund.

– He implemented the scheme of setting up of the Fast Track Courts and also paid special attention to the computerisation of the courts.

– He brought amendments in the Motor Vehicles Act and the Negotiable Instruments Act to facilitate the expeditious disposal of cases.

– The High Courts of Chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Uttarakhand were inaugurated under his guidance.

– In 2002, he successfully introduced the 84th amendment of the Constitution of India for freezing parliamentary seats till 2026.

– For penalising defection, in 2004 he successfully introduced 91st amendments to the Constitution of India.

– Played an important role as a strategic planner for the BJP in eight Assembly elections.

– In Gujarat, 2002 General Assembly elections, he helped his party colleague Narendra Modi to grab 126 seats out of 182.

– In 2007 again he helped Modi ji to come back to power by winning 117 seats out of 182 in Gujarat.

– He managed the Assembly election in Madhya Pradesh and won along Uma Bharti in 2003.

– In 2004, he specifically put in charge in Karnataka and at the same time in Assembly election BJP won 18 out of 26 Lok Sabha seats and captured 83 seats in the assembly elections and emerged as the largest party.

– He was appointed as the general secretary in charge of elections to MCD of Delhi in 2007 in which BJP won 184 out of 272.

– He was appointed as the Vice President of BCCI.

Interesting facts about Arun Jaitley

– Arun Jaitley was a multi-talented personality, and succeeded in every field he chose, as lawyer, writer, author and politician. He was a lifetime friends, supporter, and mentor to many.

– The Ministry of Disinvestment was newly created, when Arun Jaitley took an independent charge.

– He never won Lok Sabha Elections.

– He was appointed as Representative of the Central Government to hold discussions with the nominees of the Government of Jammu and Kashmir.

– Arun Jaitley was the chief Strategy planner of BJP for 2014 election and was one of the reasons of the massive victory.

– He liked Cricket a lot and so he served in the Delhi Cricket Association (DDCA) and Board of Cricket in India (BCCI).

– According to the sources his favourite politician was Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

– His favourite player Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir.

– He did his paperwork’s for the Bofors Scandal investigations.

– His clients include from across the political lines such as Madhavrao Scindia of INC to Sharad Yadav of Janata Dal to L.K Advani of BJP.

– He had penned several books publications on current and legal affairs. Some of the famous books of Arun Jaitley are Andhere se Ujale ki Ore, Articles and Speeches by Arun Jaitley A Compilation, Sabka Sath Sabka Vikas book also released by Arun Jaitley.

– He had also appeared on behalf of multinational giants like Coca-Cola and PepsiCo in India.

– He stopped practicing law in around 2009.

No doubt, the contribution of Arun Jaitley to the BJP and the government for over two decades is not forgettable. He has been one of the main strategists for the party.

Let us take a look at some of the major achievements of Arun Jaitley. 

– Jaitley had supported Prime Minister Modi, then a party colleague during 2002 and 2007 General Assembly election in Gujarat and led the team to the victory.

– In 2003, he managed the Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh along with Uma Bharti and won.

– In 2004, Jaitley was made in charge in Karnataka for both elections, Assembly election and the general election.

– The BJP under his leadership outperformed in both elections in 2014 as it went on to win 18 out of 26 Lok Sabha seats and 83 seats of 115 eats in the Assembly elections to form a BJP government in Karnataka. 

– He led BJP Delhi unit to victory (184 wards out of 272 wards) when he was appointed as the general secretary in charge of elections to Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) in 2007.

– Jaitley shortly managed Delhi cricket board and was part of BCCL. But he resigned to focus on mainstream politics.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!